Nap time battles

So my little one has a serious case of FOMO – Fear of Missing Out. To the point that nap time means he will miss something, so he fights sleep.  He doesn’t fall asleep, he succumbs to sleep. 

Around 10am, he napped for about 30 minutes in the car as we headed to errands. I got 30 minutes out of him because I went to the slowest drive-thru Starbucks on the planet. After braving Walmart on a Sunday for diapers and wipes, we headed home.

Now he yawned quite a bit in the car, his eyes are so bloodshot he looks hungover, and he hasn’t been listening like he normally does since before we left. Granted we were at Disneyland, which means he should be EXTRA tired. 

I put him to bed after lunch, and he’s been “playing” for a bit. I heard a noise that sounded dangerous, so I popped in to check on him, and the little bugger flopped down on the bed and pretended to be asleep!!! 

For reals! I had no idea 18-month-olds were that sophisticated at manipulation! 😱😱😱

Edited to add that a few minutes ago I went into the room because he started crying…only to discover he had taken off his diaper and peed all over the bed. 😳😳😳😳😂

Leave a Reply

